Alliance for Headache Disorders Advocacy

The Alliance for Headache Disorders Advocacy (AHDA) advocates for equitable policies for people with headache disorders.


Working together for better treatments and a better quality of life.

DonateTake Action

2020 Annual Report

Learn more about our work for advocating for equitable policies for people with headache disorders.

What is the AHDA?

The ADHA is comprised of nonprofit organizations who are vitally concerned about the health of patients with headache disorders including migraine disease, cluster headaches, chronic daily headache, new daily persistent headache and tension-type headaches.

Since 2007, AHDA has advocated consistently for increased recognition of, and more equitable federal policies toward Americans with disabling headache disorders. These advocacy efforts have been expressed through annual Headache on the Hill (HOH) congressional fly-in events in Washington, DC, as well as multiple other activities throughout the years.

Executive Board

  • President – Dr. Christopher Gottschalk
  • Vice President – Bob Wold, Clusterbusters
  • Treasurer – Jill Dehlin, NHF 
  • Secretary – Kevin Lenaberg – CHAMP
  • Director of Federal Policy – Katie MacDonald

Board of Directors

  • Derek Brandt – AAN
  • Dr. Larry Charleston IV – Member at Large
  • Josie Cooper – AfPA
  • Annika Ehrlich – HCOP
  • Dr. Connie Deline – Spinal CSF Leak Foundation
  • Dr. Carrie Dougherty – Southern Headache Society
  • Dr. Joanna Kempner – Member at Large
  • Shirley Kessel – Miles for Migraine
  • Dr. Stephanie Nahas – Member at Large
  • Tammy Rome – CHSG
  • Jeannette Rotondi – CMA
  • Dr. Robert Shapiro – HCNE, Founding President
  • Dr. Amaal Starling, American Headache Society
  • Dr. William Young – Immediate Past President